Traveling in Romania: some myths, some tips, and something about gypsies

Picnic at the Cathedral

Before I went to Romania several people warned me it might be dangerous, that I should look out. Oh man were they right–why just the other morning a calf escaped and took off down the dirt road with his new wobbly legs splayed all about with dad and granny chasing after him. I mean, who know what might have happened to us.

calfrun2

calfrun1

While I acknowledge that a couple of weeks in Romania does not make me an expert on it’s culture, I strongly believe in having my own first hand experiences and I want to share with you what I learned.

First some myths:

Romania is dangerous.  Close encounters with runaway calves aside, Romania is not dangerous to tourists.  Sure, the area around the train station in Bucharest is a bit dodgy, but no worse than in any other European city.  And just like in the rest of Europe…

Vezi articol original 781 de cuvinte mai mult

Lasă un răspuns

